Spring is here! One of my favorite time of the year is spring when cool summer breeze is flowing and making your hair fly like you’re in front of a table fan. Nothing is better than spring and an excellent book. If you have both, you’re having the time of your life. March was such a month; I read four books (thus, keeping my monthly tab at four books), and one comic issue.

#1 Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys – Lina, along with her family is transferred to labor camps. This World War II fiction is one of the best books that I have ever read; because of its characters and the poignant story. Ruta Sepetys succeeded in creating a story with characters for whom you would care, and you would not only be along for the journey, but you will be on the journey. When I finished Between Shades of Gray, I was left with deep anguish.

#2 Shatter Me by Tahareh Mafi – The more I think about it, the less I like it. It is a fine book, but it is buried deep under the ever so awkward romance which is dragged along for the most of the book just makes it a nuisance. By the time I finished Shatter Me, I just lost interest in reading it; it does get interesting by the end but not enough to keep me coming back for more.

#3 The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – This is a book to rave about; it’s so well structured, and the unique narrative makes this a memorable story. It makes effective use of its WWII setting to portray the misery and harsh conditions people use to live in; and of course, Death. Death is such an important part of this book, and when you read more and more, you can’t help but feel sympathy towards him. The Book Thief is a history lesson and a lesson in life.

#4 The Fellowship of The Ring by J.R.R Tolkien – I have no words to say which haven’t been said before about this series. Yes, I call it a series because the work of The Lord of The Rings is not limited only to the trilogy books but it is expanded over by The Hobbit, The Silmarillion, Unfinished Tales, The Letters of J.R.R Tolkien, The Children of Húrin, The History of Middle Earth, The Annotated Hobbit and, The History of The Hobbit. The Middle-Earth is so vast and its history so long that it feels like an alternative universe.

#5 The Walking Dead Volume #3 Safety Behind Bars by Robert Kirkman – I craved to read the comics after I watched the latest sixth season of The Walking Dead TV show and heard so much about this Negan character. He is said to be the most badass villain The Walking Dead has ever had, and so I started reading the comics. Rick and group are in the prison, and they are struggling and trying to maintain a normal life in the prison, but things never go right with Rick. There’s incredible action in this volume which is far more interesting and attentive than it was in volume 2. New characters are also introduced such as some dudes in prison and Michonne by the end. I know where the story will go, but the comic have more characters than the show, and it always keeps freshness in it.

Announcement

My dear nine followers and all the random viewers. Every time I post something you read it and while it is just ten people or five, every post is an experience for me; it makes my writing better, and ultimately it makes me better. So I want to share something with you.

I recently got hired as a freelance writer at a website called Word of The Nerd as a book reviewer. I am excited to work at the website, and it seems like a fun place and environment to work at; if some of you want to follow my reviews, then I will be posting them on Word of The Nerd site. I will, however, not stop blogging here. I will do Monthly Wrap-Ups, and if some random post about books comes to me, then I will post it here. So if any of you would like to continue to follow my reviews, then you can do so at Word of The Nerd website. You can follow me on Twitter or Instagram to stay updated with the reviews.

I would like to give special thanks to Klari.boo and The Book Review Page for being the only guys who commented on my work. Thank you guys for the kind words, you’re awesome. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up – March and An Announcement

  1. Dude you are awesome! Very happy for you! 😊👏 dude I’m grateful for all the support you show me! I can’t wait to read between shades of grey!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment